Skip Navigation LinksHome > Membership > Governance and Policies

AABB Governance and Policies

AABB is organized, led and governed in a manner that permits rapid, thoughtful and effective policymaking. Consistent with its commitment to the highest standards of care for patients and donors, the association closely adheres to operating principles and practices that promote ethics and transparency. The Sarbanes-Oxley Act was adopted primarily to restore confidence in publicly traded entities, but AABB has joined other not-for-profit organizations in embracing sections of the act that help ensure accountability and compliance. AABB diligently works to identify and incorporate best practices that help mitigate risk and improve processes.

This section includes some of the guidelines and policies that have been developed to help ensure accountability and compliance, as well as members-only content relating to the organization's volunteer leadership, including board members profiles, descriptions of AABB committees, and association election information.  

AABB Code of Ethics (PDF)
AABB Bylaws (PDF)
AABB Firewall Policy (PDF)
AABB Policy on Conflicts of Interest and Confidentiality (PDF)
AABB Trademark Usage Guidelines (PDF)

2020 – 2021 AABB Board of Directors

David Green, MSA - Vitalant – President
Dana Devine, PhD - Canadian Blood Services – President-Elect
Beth Shaz, MD - Duke University – Past President
Brian Gannon, BA, MBA - Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center – Vice President
John Murphy - OneBlood - Treasurer
Aaron Tobian, MD, PhDJohns Hopkins Hospital - Secretary
Phil Accooe, MLS(ASCP)SBB, CLSU.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Jose Cancelas, MD, PhD - Hoxworth Blood Center
Meghan Delaney, DO, MPHChildren’s National Hospital
Delisa English, MBA The Blood Connection
Magali Fontaine, MD, PhDUniversity of Maryland School of Medicine
Jerry Holmberg, PhD, MT(ASCP)SBB - Grifols Diagnostic Solutions, Inc.
Celina Montemayor-Garcia, MD, PhDCanadian Blood Services Centre for Innovation
Richard Schäfer, MD - Institute for Transfusion Medicine and Immunohaematology – German Red Cross Blood Donor Services
Rachel Smith - American Red Cross Biomedical Services
Steven Spitalnik, MD - Columbia University
Thomas Spitzer, MD Massachusetts General Hospital
Jeffrey Winters, MD - Mayo Clinic – Rochester
Debra BenAvram - AABB - CEO